Day two (2) My Blog…Like i still in introduction mood…Steups!

Day one I gave you a little snippet of me, so maybe as my friends would say….”Just tell them about you”. Yeah right!

Well for one! I don’t know if I’m Blogging or Twittering? I here feeling kind of silly writing this missive only to realize that my mouth is moving as I type…Damn! Have I become my gone but not forgotten parents?

My mother spoke to herself at times, and told me its not speaking to oneself but having  self-affirmation, a response that even today I find myself using. My father as I remember, would cross and shake his feet, legs crossed, while at the time smoking  his authentic English man’s pipe.

Though my dad studied and lived like my mom in England, he was as English as a hairy toothpick in an olive and cheese ‎​Hors d’oeuvres. But one thing for sure that I’ll always remember was trhe fact that he was a ‘Man’s Man’… Plumber, Electrician, Gardener, Carpenter, shit the man could even cook! Oh yes, and how could I forget, a very talented Mason.

Anyway, a nuclear family consisting of course my parents and my sister who’s name as best as possible I would try to omit from further discussion, and me…. Back to my father…..He always as far back as I could remember we always had three cars.  A pick-up, a luxury car, rememembering specifically the Pontiac and British Kingswood he owned in the early stages and his propensity to  always be buying and selling a car.

This was funny. One day a boldface neighbor decided to pick an argument with ‘D Ole Man’, on how my father have to watch his property line and how he can’t be making noise in his machine shop because it kept him up at night. suffice to say, as clear as day. (Shit this deserves a new paragraph!)

Ok , where was I..right ! I remember my father throwing down the yard broom (he was sweeping) calmly walking inside…..my mom was like “children go inside” , I knew back then the smell of bachannal. Especially when my father came back outside armed! Yes armed with several pieces of paper and told my neighbor to check his deed to see who really own what! He told the man “And don’t be late with your next payment!”. Ha ha ha what a laugh, what a riot ! Somehow between Bim and Bam my father owned that man’ s house. Needless to say my mother was lost as we all were discovering this….Well not to out do himself he had another surprise up his sleeve. He said “let’s go!” Well not exactly like that, but you get the drift. We drove down La Horquette Valley Rd in the west where we lived at the time and he pointed to a another house on the hill and said that we were moving there. So say the least, that never happened, eventually he sold that house.

By this time the family business was picking up and we living a comfortable life. One evening as faith should have it, he decided to let me in on a little secret. You see, on some mornings he would drop me off to school, but on this occasion he insisted that we not sleep at ‘home’ and told me that we’re sleeping out so “Get your school stuff one time!” And off we went. Into Diego Martin we drove and into a yard that the house in Glencoe could fit in! So I’m like “Whay? So daddy who house is ‘dis’ ?” A normal question for any young boy to his father…His response was ” Boy shut yuh dam mouth and pick a room and sleep!!” And that was that! Next morning I awoke to a mansion. It had everything : Built-in stove, oven, dishwasher, fridge with ice maker…built-in cupboards the works. There was even a pool.

The following week my friends and I were playing in the street when two 3 tonne long tray trucks come down the street with my father in toe. That day will forever be etched in my mind. My mother coming home from work and my father saying we moving ! And that was that!

About Gr "GRAMZEE" Cook

Born in Port of Spain Trinidad, on February 14th, a number that throughout my life has held significence in and can be considered my Lucky Number. Coincidentally, my mother was also a fan of that number as well, she being the 14th of Janruary.. God rest her soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day two (2) My Blog…Like i still in introduction mood…Steups!

  1. shellybabes says:

    OMG, I could not stop lauging at your post. So hilarious!
    I really do think you should write a book. I would be the first one at Barnes and Noble….Very exciting life, and I am sure you have so much more to tell. Can’t wait for day 3…..
    Shells.

  2. Karlene says:

    Funny as heck! Sounds a bit like my family, if you leave our the maid, cars, mansionn etc. You have a talent for story telling. Nuture it. Waiting for episode number 3!

Leave a comment